ITINERARIES

en-itinerari-logo

General information

GENERAL INFORMATION

Four itineraries help visitors discover the magnificent landscape of Valle di Lodano, each selected to showcase the beauty of nature and the testimony of past human activities. The first two hikes can be done in one day, while the other two require each two days with an overnight stay at the cabin at Alp da Canaa. Each itinerary focuses on a particular theme.

The proposed itineraries follow mountain trails with white-red-white markings (level of difficulty T2). Thanks to improvements made under the forest reserve project, the trails are in excellent condition and offer several scenic views.

Hikers should prepare appropriately for the journey, behave responsibly, and beware potential dangers.

Itinerary 1

ITINERARY 1:

Lodano-Soláda d Zóra-Castèll-Lodano

 

On this easy climb hikers will encounter evidence of past logging activities and discover low altitude forest species
This hike winds along a comfortable path where you will find two examples of past forest activities, logging and charcoal production. The path goes through some well-preserved mountain settlements and leads to panoramic viewpoints over the majestic Maggia River basin and inside remote corners of Valle di Lodano. On this journey you will come across forest types characteristic of lower altitudes.

Technical information 
Start and finishLodano, 341 m
Distance7 km
Hiking time3h 30 min
Altitude difference790 m
Highest point887 m
DifficultyEasy hike, suitable for families (T2)

Layout 1

Itinerary 2

ITINERARY 2:

Lodano-Castèll-Mött di Còll-Ör Gröss-C’öll-Mognèe d Zótt-Lodano

 

A hike in the heart of the forest reserve, on the footsteps of woodcutters and charcoal burners, through woods and rugged scenery
This journey takes you in the heart of the forest reserve, once the site of the most intense activities of utilization of the forest. Along the path you will encounter various forest types, especially beech and silver fir woods. You will also notice several traces of human activities over the centuries: log chutes, barrages, charcoal-making flats, wire cables, and forest cutting sections.

Technical information 
Start and finish Lodano, 341 m
Distance11.5 km
Hiking time6 h 10 min
Altitude difference1540 m
Highest point1324 m
DifficultyHike of medium difficulty (T2)

Layout 1

Itinerary 3

ITINERARY 3:

Lodano-Castèll-Alp da Canaa-Alp di Pii-Soláda d Zóra-Lodano

 

An excursion to explore the forest species and nature of Valle di Lodano
This hike takes you right through the center of the valley to discover a part of the forest reserve and its varied arboreal vegetation: chestnut groves, pioneer forests, and woods of beech, larch, Norway spruce, and silver fir. Once you reach Alp da Canaa, on the slopes of Cramalína, the itinerary continues to Alp di Pii, also home to a small alpine lake and a unique biotope, and then descending back down the valley. The natural scenery and features of this journey are striking.

Technical informationDay 1Day 2
Sarting pointLodano, 341 mAlp da Canaa, 1843 m
Point of arrivalAlp da Canaa, 1843 mLodano, 341 m
Distance6.5 km8 km
Hike time4 h 30 min3 h 10 min
Altitude difference: ascent1630 m160 m
Altitude difference: descent160 m1630 m
Highest point1843 m1843 m
Emergency shelterAlp di Pii, 1607 m
DifficultyHike of medium difficulty (T2)

Layout 1

Itinerary 4

ITINERARY 4:

 

Lodano-Soláda d Zóra-Alp di Pii-Alp da Canaa-Alp da Tramón-Mognèe d Zótt-Lodano

 

A hike through the alpine pastures of Valle di Lodano with gorgeous views
This hike takes you along the outer rim of the forest reserve, in the area of the high pastures. The trail rises gradually until Alp di Pii, following the long journey of seasonal migration, during which alpine farmers and cattle went from the village to the mountain settlements and then to the higher pastures. The excursion continues circularly around the valley with only small changes in elevation, touching upon the alpine pastures of Nagairón, Canaa, Cófna, and Tramón, and offering a variety of panoramic views of both Vallemaggia and the forest reserve. The descent takes place on the opposite side of the valley from the ascent.

Technical informationDay 1Day 2
Sarting pointLodano, 341 mAlp da Canaa, 1843 m
Point of arrivalAlp da Canaa, 1843 mLodano, 341 m
Distance8 km10 km
Hike time4 h 40 min3 h 50 min
Altitude difference: ascent1630 m300 m
Altitude difference: descent160 m1770 m
Highest point1843 m1843 m
Emergency shelterAlp di Pii, 1607 mAlp da Tramón, 1634 m
DifficultyHike of medium difficulty (T2)

Layout 1

 

More information (technical details, GPX data, …)

ITINÉRAIRES

fr-itinerari-logo

Informations générales

INFORMATIONS GÉNÉRALES

Afin de découvrir la Valle di Lodano et son paysage magnifique, nous proposons quatre itinéraires à la recherche de la biodiversité et de la présence de témoignages remarquables de l’activité humaine. Les deux premières excursions peuvent s’effectuer chacune en une journée, alors qu’il faut compter deux journées pour chacune des deux autres, avec la possibilité de passer la nuit dans le refuge de l’Alp da Canaa. Chaque excursion est axée sur un thème particulier.

Les itinéraires proposés se déroulent sur des sentiers de randonnée en montagne, balisés blanc-rouge-blanc (degré de difficulté T2). Grâce aux aménagements apportés dans le cadre du projet Réserve forestière, les sentiers sont dans un état idéal et offrent plusieurs points panoramiques.

Nous suggérons aux randonneurs de préparer soigneusement leur excursion, de tenir un comportement responsable et de prêter le maximum d’attention aux dangers potentiels.

Itinéraire 1

ITINÉRAIRE 1:

Lodano-Soláda d Zóra-Castèll-Lodano

 

Randonnée facile à la découverte de témoignages de l’exploitation du bois et de quelques essences forestières de basse altitude
Il s’agit d’une excursion se déroulant sur un sentier aisé le long duquel on peut rencontrer quelques témoignages intéressants des activités forestières: la coupe des bois et la production de charbon.
Le parcours permet d’atteindre quelques mayens bien conservés et mène à des points panoramiques d’où on jouit d’une vaste vue du majestueux paysage fluvial de la Maggia et d’endroits cachés de la Valle di Lodano. L’excursion traverse quelques-unes des typologies forestières caractéristiques des altitudes inférieures.

Données techniques 
Départ et arrivéeLodano, 341 m
Longueur7 km
Temps de marche3h 30 min
Dénivelé790 m
Point culminant887 m
Degré de difficultéRandonnée facile, convient aussi aux familles (T2)

Layout 1

Itinéraire 2

ITINÉRAIRE 2:

Lodano-Castèll-Mött di Còll-Ör Gröss-C’öll-Mognèe d Zótt-Lodano

 

Randonnée dans la Réserve forestière sur les traces des bûcherons et des charbonniers, à travers des bois et des habitats sauvages
Il s’agit d’une excursion qui mène au coeur de la Réserve forestière, là où se déroulaient les plus importantes activités liées à l’exploitation du bois. Tout au long du sentier, on rencontre plusieurs typologies forestières, en particulier la hêtraie et la sapinière. Les traces laissées au cours des siècles par l’activité humaine sont nombreuses: sovende, barrages (serre), clairières des charbonniers, transport par câble métallique, sections de coupe des bois.

Données techniques 
Départ et arrivéeLodano, 341 m
Longueur11.5 km
Temps de marche6 h 10 min
Dénivelé1540 m
Point culminant1324 m
Degré de difficultéRandonnée de difficulté moyenne (T2)

Layout 1

Itinéraire 3

ITINÉRAIRE 3:

Lodano-Castèll-Alp da Canaa-Alp di Pii-Soláda d Zóra-Lodano

 

Excursion à la découverte des essences forestières et des espèces naturelles de la Valle di Lodano
Il s’agit d’une randonnée qui, en montant au centre de la vallée, mène à la découverte d’une partie de la Réserve forestière et de sa végétation arboricole multiforme: châtaigneraie, bois pionnier, hêtraie, forêt de mélèze, bois de sapin rouge, sapinière (sapin blanc). Une fois atteint l’Alp da Canaa, au flanc de la Cramalína, l’excursion se poursuit vers l’Alp di Pii, où se trouve un petit étang – un précieux biotope – pour redescendre ensuite vers le fond de la vallée. Cet itinéraire met le promeneur en contact avec les beautés naturelles dans le cadre de paysages surprenants.

Données techniques1er jour2ème jour
DépartLodano, 341 mAlp da Canaa, 1843 m
ArrivéeAlp da Canaa, 1843 mLodano, 341 m
Longueur6.5 km8 km
Temps de marche4 h 30 min3 h 10 min
Dénivelé en montée1630 m160 m
Dénivelé en descente160 m1630 m
Point culminant1843 m1843 m
BivouacsAlp di Pii, 1607 m
Degré de difficultéRandonnée de difficulté moyenne (T2)

Layout 1

Itinéraire 4

ITINÉRAIRE 4:

 

Lodano-Soláda d Zóra-Alp di Pii-Alp da Canaa-Alp da Tramón-Mognèe d Zótt-Lodano

 

Excursion à travers les alpages de la Valle di Lodano et ses splendides panoramas
Cette randonnée se déroule autour de la Réserve forestière et permet d’atteindre les hautes prairies des alpages de la Valle di Lodano. On monte graduellement jusqu’à l’Alp di Pii en suivant le long itinéraire de la transhumance qui amenait les bergers et le bétail du village aux mayens et plus tard aux stations des alpages.
L’excursion se poursuit en boucle autour de la vallée avec des dénivelés réduits, en passant par les alpages Nagairón, Canaa, Cófna et Tramón; elle offre des points panoramiques variés d’où on jouit d’une vue incomparable aussi bien sur la Vallemaggia que sur la Réserve forestière. La descente se poursuit sur le versant opposé à celui de la montée.

Données techniques1er jour2ème jour
DépartLodano, 341 mAlp da Canaa, 1843 m
ArrivéeAlp da Canaa, 1843 mLodano, 341 m
Longueur8 km10 km
Temps de marche4 h 40 min3 h 50 min
Dénivelé en montée1630 m300 m
Dénivelé en descente160 m1770 m
Point culminant1843 m1843 m
BivouacsAlp di Pii, 1607 mAlp da Tramón, 1634 m
Degré de difficultéRandonnée de difficulté moyenne (T2)

Layout 1

 

Plus d’informations (détails techniques, données GPX, …)